Patient Perseverance is a Necessary Skill of the Faithful

We live in a world of NOW. We want everything quicker, faster and with the least amount of effort possible. Why? Because humans crave instant gratification. We have an innate desire to quench a thirst for immediate fulfillment. Just take a moment to look around you and it’s easy to see how we’ve been fooled into thinking that we can have anything we want with very little work—quick fix diet fads, exercise regimens that require as little as 10 minutes a day, and even business programs that claim to make you a tremendous amount of money in a ridiculously short period of time.

Everyone is talking about ‘seeing results’ in as little time as possible. Deep down we know these are all untrue, but our humanness often gets the best of us. Unfortunately, though, these quick fixes eventually lead to overabundance (either in food or things) and cutting corners. When we engage in quick-fix anything, the gratification we feel is fleeting, short-lived and without substance. We continue to desire more and more, and spend a lot of time and money trying to fill a void that can only be occupied by time. Sadly, so many people compromise on their dreams because the waiting is more than they can bear and they settle for something less than they deserve and move on to the next best thing, only to look back on their life and have regrets.

I’m currently being reminded of how difficult it is to patiently wait. I’m anxious to finish the build of our new home, so we can fully make our transition to living a more simple and relaxed life.  My company, CereDx is going on 4 years now and I’m ready to launch our next step. Since my illness, I’ve been transforming all parts of my life to allow intention, gratitude and wellness to guide me so I’m anxious to fully launch Deep Roots Healing, but not really sure how it’s going to fit. So much of me wants all of this to be clear and happen now! But I know there is a reason for the uncertainty and the waiting and within the waiting is an opportunity for me to see things as they are, grow spiritually and emotionally and gain the skills and talents necessary to ensure my eventual success.

Only those close to me know that about halfway through my PhD program I almost quit. For the last three years of my studies, I had a very intense schedule that kept me at work 7 days a week, with only two weekend days off per month.  I remember feeling completely drained and that there was no way I could keep going. In the midst of the chaos, I had two small children at home and a husband who had sacrificed his career goals so I could achieve mine. No doubt, it was his daily words of encouragement and sometimes a firm kick in the butt that kept me going. I think back to that time and I can’t imagine what my life would be if I had quit and I’m so thankful my husband was there to remind me of why I had started and that I was given the divine courage and strength to persevere.

Patient perseverance is an active process of faith. Waiting allows God to prepare our path, helping us to acquire skills, talents, and/or partnerships along the way to ensure our success. Whatever the goal or vision may be, we must remember that we will be given everything we need to get there as long as we recognize that God is with us and making a way to fulfill His vision for our life. Waiting is the ultimate test of faith. It is not an allowance to become lazy or distracted in the process, rather it is an opportunity each and every day to work diligently toward our goal. Challenges will come and test our devotion, but they are only placed before us to make us stronger and to allow us to develop a more intimate relationship with God as we pray for His guidance. If we are open to the process of waiting well, we will also be able to see rewards and signs along the way ensuring we are on the right path.

To withstand the test of time, we must pray for endurance to run the race of life. Life is not a sprint, but a marathon and the future finish line is far more gratifying than anything given to us in the here and now. Remind yourself today that waiting is a gift and patient perseverance is a skill you must cultivate to ensure your success.

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him. James 1:12 

Leave a comment